2023 DCI Finals Random Musings and Useless Predictions


Well here we are! After a smoky beginning, and a bout with San Antonio’s revenge, our men are in Indy for the 2023 DCI World Championships, coming off three great shows in Allentown, Pittsburgh, and Cincinnati.

I like to clear my head in the “dead period” between last show and prelims, and attempt to look at the whole slate of Drum Corps and make a “head” prediction of how with hootenany is gong to turn out. My “heart” prediction has us running up to 6th.

But I’m going to do this differently this year. I’m not going to predict other scores or placements. I’m not going to predict OUR placement.

I’m going to predict our score on Saturday night.

93.25

And after what we experienced in Spring Training and post- San Antonio, that’s a quite remarkable recovery from both.

I don’t know where that number will park us, but it’s safe to say anywhere from 5-8.

But I’ll think you’ll see on your Cavaliers’ faces in the LOS parking lot Saturday night this was never about a “number”.

It was about brotherhood, fighting through adversity, pushing to a level of excellence they didn’t know they could achieve both as a corps and as individuals, and heading home on Sunday knowing they’ve got a family for life.

So… the official prediction is 93.25

(Oh… I almost forgot… AND a Sanford High Percussion Trophy)

😎



Leave a comment