And so it begins…

Wow, what a show in the Alamodome last night! One amazing Corps after another! Our men were on top of their game and their highest score of the year reflected it!

After the show, I made my way through the lot looking for our trucks, and of course our kids.

When I got there , several crews were working together to fold the large orange tarps we see in the show. They were working like a well oiled machine ( intentional 2006 reference there😀). When they finished, I quickly found Davis and his buddies from Jacksonville State, so of course I had to grab the obligatory picture.

09A23C9B-95D3-4332-B8E3-615565BAB7D6
The “JSU Crew”

The Corps was all smiles but working hard to get changed , load the trucks and get ready to eat and move out to housing.

I’m going to close this first 2018 post echoing a thought from last year’s tour. It seems en vogue lately to bash this generation of young people as being without purpose, lazy, and entitled.

As I watched these men work together, each with their jobs and performing them with amazing efficiency, that thought from last tour re-entered my mind.

”Whoever thinks this generation is lazy and entitled NEVER, and I mean EVER met a Cavalier!”

Free day in San Antonio today, a V-bus ride to Mesquite tonight and I report for duty as a driver tomorrow…see you down the road!

Leave a comment