Well. THAT was a close one

We’ve all heard the phrase “razor thin margin”. Well…we lived it last night, moving into the official 5th slot for tonight’s Semifinals performance order over Boston by 0.025 points.

Yeah… but not really. Last night we took a 0.30 point penalty… evidently charged when the pit rotated the marimbas sideways. Supposedly one of them crossed a front boundary from the front sideline. Without that penalty, we secure 5th by 0.325 points, still not a big margin. Tis what it is.

But let’s not lose sight of the mission. Last night’s mission was to improve performance order for tonight. Mission accomplished.

So… here’s how I’m reading the available tea leaves. With tonight’s position and judging panel I’m predicting that we stretch our lead over Boston to about 0.75 points. We have a favorable panel tonight. The not so good news is we don’t have a favorable panel for Finals on Saturday. Kinda important to build a nice margin tonight.

I know we’ve talked about a run at 4th. I can’t see it. Mathematically it’s just not there. Would love to be wrong!

Now for some fun stuff. My brother David joined Southwind’s tour as a brass instructor 3 weeks ago. Laurie and I got to catch up with him yesterday at the Slippery Noodle and hear  all his funny tour stories. When the rains came, we were disappointed that the Military Park warmup was off.

But he was determined to see Davis and get a picture.

Another mission accomplished!

Thats David ( Spirit of Atlanta 1979 and 1981) with Davis pre show.

And one last mission for this weekend was to get a pic of Davis in full drum major garb.

Thanks to our wonderful parents “family” that one is accomplished as well thanks to Beth Kaiser!

One last thing: in the vein of “Parents Family” if someone would like our Flo Marching login for tonight, PM me. We’d hate for it to go to waste.

I think my brother Dave is going to use it Saturday night so my twin nieces can get their first introduction to Drum Corps, but tonight is available… hit me up.

Happy Friday! Let’s go get it Cavaliers!

 

 

Oo

 

 

 

Leave a comment