Convoy!- Day 2

When I left off, the Cavaliers had just put up an 87.5 in Lafayette, LA.  It’s 11:00 p.m. And time to move the corps to Hattiesburg, MS. overnight.

Time for my first service as a volunteer…driving the 26 foot Penske truck with field props and equipment in it. Earlier in the day I rode with the driver that was rolling off the tour to learn about the truck. I’d never driven a truck with air-brakes, a Diesel engine that had to prime before you start it, no “P” on PRNDL, etc.

And so now was my turn. As we pulled out of ULL’s parking lot, I noticed the drivers seat bounced like a trampoline even on the smallest bumps. Uh, that’s not going to work. Then it started raining. The wiper controls weren’t intuitively located either. Whoops. I hadn’t learned all I needed to know!

As I bounced my way to I-10 I had the scary thought, “If I bounce like this for 4 hours, my lower back will never be the same!”

Once the Convoy was on I-10 and things had calmed down, I found a switch on the side of the seat that lowered the seat with a rushing of air, and no more bounce! Yeah!

That was a temporary “yeah” though. An hour later my right knee and hip are throbbing! Evidently you need “some” bounce as a shock absorber to the road. Played with switch again and finally dialed in the seat.

What I left out from the beginnng was the truck’s radio didn’t work.

So…4 hours to myself with no music. Fun!

All of this to say, I was driving a 26-footer like a total spaz, while the bus and tractor trailer drivers just make it look so easy!

We finally arrived at Oak Brook High School at 3:30 a.m and were squared away and in bed by 4:30 a.m.

I woke up at 9 a.m. And walked out to find the Cavaliers already up and working. Color Guard working in the Gym, Brass at an Indoor Football facility, drums and ensemble under covered walkways. Rain doesn’t stop the Cavaliers.

Since there was no contest today, and I had no schedule, I took an Uber to a local mall to buy a blanket. By the time this weeklong stay with the corps is over, I’ll have what I should have brought with me in the first place!

Because of predicted evening lightning and rain, the Cavs staff cancelled evening rehearsal and to make use of the time bussed the members to a laundromat to wash their jungle rotting clothes.

I bumped into Davis who with genuine excitement told me…”We GET to go do laundry tonight!” My first thought was that Laurie probably passed out in Atlanta and didn’t know why!😀

Day 3 will be a Contest Day… more as it comes!

Leave a comment