“Where Did All The Good Times Go?”😀

Well, it’s Sunday morning June 30th. My last day on tour. Wow did this go by fast! If I were either retired or independently wealthy, I swear I’d volunteer this tour all the way to Indy in mid-August.

But with reality firmly in grasp, I thought I’d pull together some final thoughts before the cook truck starts breakfast in 45 minutes. So here goes, in no particular order.

1. You’ve raised amazing young men. If one were to just grab 154 men between 18-21 years old there would be a wide distribution of “behavioral norms”.  Which is why the Cavaliers DON’T just randomly grab members . As Jacob Armstrong noted and I wrote about in a previous post these men know how to “Be A Cavalier”. They are gentlemen, they are confident, they are grateful, and while I still don’t remember the fourth  descriptor, I’ll just add they are kind. They are also a pleasure to serve.

2. By Indy, this show will be one of if not THE most crowd pleasing shows on the 2019 tour. The huge crowd at the Rose Bowl went bonkers for it last night. So fun to see other corps’ fans throw a full on standing ovation for our men last night.

3. Be diligent about not letting “scores ruin your summer”.  There’s a chance this show could put up a 97 in Indy and be 2nd. Or put up a 97 and be 6th. Always remember that those young people in the other Corps work just as hard as yours… they just happen to put on a different colored uniform every night. There is no joy in down talking another corps. There is great joy in appreciating them all and the beauty of the art they are creating. I can’t wait to see the East Coast Corps live (probably in San Antonio but definitely in Atlanta) . If you take away your desire to win, you’re going to experience some amazing things. It’s the teaching staff and members efforts to do the best they can to raise their art form. We’re just along for the ride. Because it will be over before you know it.

4. Consider volunteering. You’ll never ever regret it!

5. Random thought. If you can’t volunteer but ARE visiting a show and the lot afterwards…Walmart sells frozen Gatorade popsicles. It’s kinda difficult to show up with 200 bottles of Gatorade. I did that in Ellijay in 2017. Which is why you see parents divide up sections for Gatorade which is both great and appreciated. But that said, you can surprise and delight the ENTIRE Corps with a box or two of frozen Gatorade popsicles! They will love you forever.

5. If you want to maximize the amount of actual shows you see online, learn how to use Periscope on your phone, tablet or computer. There are usually one or two brave souls that live stream the shows. While they are technically violating the DCI streaming requirements by broadcasting via Periscope, you are not violating those requirements by receiving their broadcast.

6. Join Cavaliers Patreon. They are bringing great lot videos, etc. And of course they appropriately will NOT stream live field shows due to licensing considerations.

7. Send your Cavalier a care package during Swamp Week. It’s the hottest, hardest week they have on tour.

I’ll never forget this tour. Selfishly, I get to hear my son’s name called out over the PA night over night, I got to see him conduct Wayne Bergeron and the Cavaliers playing “When You Wish Upon a Star” and realize his dreams really are coming true. I got to see him conduct in the Rose Freaking Bowl!

I got to enjoy this experience with my wife for a few days. I got to witness my brother in law almost “meeting” my son. Laurie’s brother is ex- military that has lived in Alaska for a long stretch, and is now retired to Palm Springs. He hasn’t seen Davis since he was a baby! So while a little awkward… it was very heartwarming!

So tonight in San Bernadino, I’ll take in this wonderful visit to The Wrong Side of the Tracks one more time. When you think about the connotations of the “wrong side of the tracks” there have been many success stories where people from “the wrong side of the tracks” have been wildly successful. They had to be determined. They had to fight. They had to believe in themselves to do so. I think that perfectly describes our 2019 Cavaliers and the competitive tasks they have before them over the next 6 weeks.

And when they blow the crowd in Indy away (and they will) , they’ll know it was all worth it. Every rep, every production run, every moment.

And they will have won.

Oh…and then there will be scores.

Signing off from Palmdale High School, affectionately known as “80 acres of white walls and green doors that all look alike”.

Might post a final word from San Bernardino, but just in case… thanks for virtually tagging along on my journey.

Mark

One thought on ““Where Did All The Good Times Go?”😀”

  1. Thank you for your insights and volunteering! Helped me feel a bit more connected to my son… who rarely calls or texts! I know he is busy! Bless you.

    Like

Leave a comment