Good Morning Again, Nashville!

Okay, not quite as much sleep as I wanted but our sleeping room had a security light that wouldn’t go out. ”Tis what it is…

Strolled outside to the mostly deserted cook truck and scored a breakfast burrito. As I ate it, I could hear the crisp combinations that the Cavs battery was throwing down.

So I started my morning musical walk-about just following the sound. As I approached the battery, there was a group of admirers young and old semi-slack jawed at the performance one of the finest drum lines in the world was throwing down. IMG_2092.JPGAs I continued to move away from the battery, I could hear the front ensemble running their mallets up and down the marimbas, so I just kept walking. As I moved closer to the pit, I could hear them primarily in my left ear while picking up trumpets in my right a little further off.

Couldnt help but smile that though they were working completely independently of one another, their combined sound was beautiful and harmonious. Sometimes this happens I guess when you separate two integral pieces of a single breathing being like the Cavaliers.

As I approached the trumpet pod, an instructor was patiently running a repetitive drill with a small number of Trumpets. ” D,F#,G, B” he said…and they played. “Again…”

As I moved on around the corner from the trumpet drill,  I began picking up the tuba line playing their soli I n Macjey’s Wine Dark Sea. I turned the corner to find the parking lot where I finally abandoned my truck around 6:15 this morning. IMG_2104Not to be out-worked, the Mellophones could be heard down the way working their signature contribution to Wine Dark Sea with Tate Hermann conducting and giving feedback.

IMG_2108

It’s at this point I’ll apologize to those looking for a guard update. I know they’re working… I just don’t know where.

All this hard work going on at 11:00. When we got here just hours ago. Amazing.

One thing as a parent I constantly hear about the next generation. They’re “entitled, lazy, unfocused, unambitious, and want someone else to solve their problems. ”

Whoever really believes that never met a Cavalier.  Period.

The showers have just opened and I have a day’s worth of grime to rid myself as I prepare for my last full day with this amazing organization. Full disclosure… my son also auditioned for Bluecoats, and while being ranked very high in music, his overall score was pushed just low enough by the visual staff that he barely missed their Baritone line.

Things happen for a reason. I couldn’t be prouder to see him with the Cavaliers. He was already a fine young man. The Cavaliers are putting him in box 5.

Have a great day all!!

 

Leave a comment