And So It Begins- Year 3 – Random Airport Musings

I’m sitting in the airport getting ready to spend the day getting across the country for my third year of spending some time with the Cavaliers.

New season. New promise. New hope. Some new marching members. Some new staff. A new Executive Director.

And yet, with all that’s exciting and new, I can’t help but think fondly of the reputation this Corps has earned in years past. 7 World Titles. A proud alumni base. And I’m quite certain that this 2019 edition will draw on that reputation from day 1 of this tour.

Now… here’s what I love about departing from traditions. I LOVE these uniforms, and I’m glad to see the Corps take necessary visual steps to be competitive. Those uniforms fit this show theme perfectly!

Some of you may know from years past that I get into the competition side of this activity, track scores closely, etc.

I’m going to try to do less of that this year, and more focus on the amazing shows that ALL the corps have  produced. I’ve already seen Blue Devils opener, Crown’s show segments, and heard Boston’s hornline fo a Concert in the Park. Folks, we’re in for a treat! They are all amazing.

So…gonna choke down a sandwich and jump a plane! Let the games begin!

 

Leave a comment