Day 3 – Mr. Heat Miser

I woke up early on Wednesday and this is what I saw when I walked outside: IMG_2017

Not a cloud in the sky, right ? Beautiful morning right? Check on both counts! But this would become less of a blessing as the day wore on.

I walked the campus, checking out the many rehearsals underway and again marveling at how hard these guys work.

Morning blocks gave way to lunch ( chicken salad sandwiches, green salad, and a seemingly never-ending supply of watermelon) and then to afternoon Ensemble block.

Thus is where that beautiful day thing began to work against the Cavaliers . It was hot…and humid…with no cloud cover at all to speak of…on turf. I’m as hardcore as it gets and I could only stand it for about 45 minutes before I had to come in. I found out later that several kids had to tap out of Ensemble not feeling well. And even later than that, some kids had a stomach bug.

This is where I have to stop and praise the Cavs medical team. They got them off the field, into a ” sick bay” immediately.

As we did the “Eat, Pack, and Load” drill , word got around that the Cotps would march several holes later that night at USM.

Once loaded, we did the short drive to USM and unloaded . I made my way to the show to watch.

Quick show thoughts:

1. I’m loving the evolution of Madison Scouts show. It is entertaining! I think they may move up a couple of slots.

2. Blue Stars is well done. I just don’t see much evolution in it since the beginning of the season.

3. Having several horn slots out hurt Cavs, but those men bowed up  and put on a great show. But I could tell they were tired.

4. Blue Devils are amazing again. If they properly clean their show, everyone else is playing for second place.

Back at the trucks we waited for scores.  IMG_2047

About what I thought. I think a full staffed and rested Cavs put up an 89 or so. But that’s the staff’s dilemma. You have to clean to improve. Cleaning can be tiring. Pick your poison!

Back at housing, a midnight snack.

IMG_2049.JPGIn bed by 1:30 a.m. On to Nashville after a full day of work here tomorrow.

Leave a comment