Didn’t March a Step, Didn’t Play a Note…

…but our family’s experience with the Cavaliers has done so much for me personally this year that it’s hard to explain. Once my son got his contract, he began working to get his body physically prepared for the season. He joined a gym, was running at the school track…I think he was even lifting weights in the basement, but couldn’t swear to it. Pretty sure I heard the free weights clanking around down there though.

The point is…he knew to have a good summer, he had to be in the right physical shape. As March turned into April, I looked at all he was doing to just to have a good summer, and became really upset at what I WASN’T doing to have a good life! It’s really embarrassing, but at the beginning of April, I stepped on the scales and I weighed 307 pounds. How in the heck did I get here? And how long will I live if I STAY here?

So…I literally flipped a switch and decided “Enough is enough!” I decided if Davis could work as hard as he was for Cavaliers, I could work at least an hour a day with exercise and modify my diet to be more healthy.

The first day I went walking, I walked 1.2 miles and it took me 23 minutes to do it. Very inauspicious beginnings, indeed. But I kept on. And then weight started slowly coming off. And I walked a little farther. And a little faster. And 6 days a week. Now I’m walking 4 mile routes 5 days a week at roughly 14-15 minute miles.

When I crossed 10 pounds lost, I bought some new running shoes that made a major difference in how my knees and hips felt when I walked. And as they felt better, I walked faster. Some mornings I would walk with the midi recordings Davis had of the upcoming show. Some mornings I would walk in silence. But I just. kept. walking.

By the time the San Antonio show rolled around, I was down about 38 pounds. How nice it was to walk all over San Antonio with my (very fit ) wife, and not be winded!  I then met the corps in San Antonio to drive the box truck for a week ( which is where this blog started) . I was worried about eating “Corps food” so I was very careful about what I put on my plate, but I did enjoy Joe Roach’s barbecued brisket, a LOT of watermelon, and steered away from pasta and potatoes on those days they were on the menu.

While on tour, and with plenty of time on my hands, I decided that no matter how hot ( San Antonio), how “swampy” (Louisiana) , how rainy/muggy (Hattiesburg) , or how sleepy I was ( Nashville) I was going to get at least 3 miles in per day as organized walking exercise. Truth is, I got a whole lot more than that just on my feet getting in and out of shows, walking to rehearsal locations, etc.

I came home from tour on July 29th and had lost another two pounds to be at minus 40.

As I’m packing tonight to go to the airport in the morning, I’m down 44. My goal when I started all of this was to have “Fifty Off By Football”. I’m going to make it!

But back to the point…this all started when my SON made the CAVALIERS and set an example for his own father as to what hard work looks like. Both his physical conditioning and the hours and hours on his horn rehearsing, making videos for the staff, etc. I hate to admit it, but had he not set the example, I’m not sure I would have ever gotten off the couch.

So as we head to Indy, it’s not just about watching the Cavs come from behind to take out the Bluecoats ( could happen! Think positive). It’s about the impact the organization had on my son…and then the transference of that impact on me. I couldn’t possibly be more grateful!

Thank you, Green Machine! I’m still “too big” for my height, but I’m headed on my way down with a process that works and determined attitude to get there.

Can’t wait to see/meet all the other parents in Indy!

comparison
April 7, 2017                                                                 August 5, 2017

I’ll be in shape to march “all age” next year! Look out Atlanta CV…here I come!  🙂

 

Leave a comment