Cavaliers Volunteer Profile – Kelly Seaton

Today’s featured Cavaliers Volunteer is Kelly Seaton! I haven’t had the honor of serving with Kelly yet, but perhaps I’ll get that chance in the 2019 season ( yep…already scheming to do this again).

So…straight to the questions, shall we?

RWTC: What section does your son march in?

Kelly: “My son is a 2nd year Mellophone”

RWTC:  When did you first start volunteering with the Cavaliers?

Kelly: “I did a couple volunteer stints last year & loved it! Cried for much of the seven hour drive home when I left. Couldn’t wait to do it again this year. Thanks to my husband taking some vacation days to be home with our daughter I was able to do a few more days this summer than last. My goal is to be able to do pre tour!”

RWTC: What do you enjoy the most about being on the road with the Corps?

Kelly: “What I enjoy about being on the road with the Corps is the feeling of giving back to an organization I believe in so much. Also, the relationships I have made with people I would have never met otherwise all working together with the same goal. You never hear “that’s not my job” but rather “how can I help?”
I look at this a little differently than probably most parents. Of course I enjoy seeing my son each day but being a Cavalier is HIS thing. I’m having my own adventure as a volunteer so I try not to interject myself or distract from his experience. As long as I can see him doing what he loves, I’m happy. Besides, when you’re on tour you’re “mom” to everyone! I’m also fascinated to see how the (well oiled) Machine travels, sets up camp, works thru the day (in all kinds of elements,) performs, loads up and sets off down the road to do it all again.”

RWTC: If you could say one thing to anyone considering volunteering on tour, what would it be?

Kelly: “To anyone considering volunteering I say find a way to make it happen! I guarantee you won’t regret it. You will be paid in thanks, hugs, laughs & memories. My son isn’t the only one impacted by his involvement with The Cavaliers. I truly believe my life has been changed by my time volunteering. I know I’m fortunate to be able to do multiple days at a time. If you’re not able to do that please try to find a way to help for a
day or even a few hours.

RWTC: Will you be in Indy?

Kelly: “I will absolutely be in Indy!”

RWTC: If you had to pick a favorite corp BESIDES the Cavaliers, who would it be?

Kelly: “If I had to pick another corps it would probably be Crown. I’ve always enjoyed their shows & we know a few kids marching & working there now.”

RWTC: Do you have any funny “tour stories” from the road?

Kelly: “There are so many fun times when volunteering! The walk to solve the daily mystery of “where is the cook truck parked today?” is always a good one. But really, what happens on the volunteer bus STAYS on the volunteer bus! You’ll just have to join us to find out!”

RWTC: Do you think you’ll still volunteer even after your son ages out?

Kelly: “😎 I would love to continue volunteering after my son ages out. Hopefully we could do it together!”

Many thanks to Kelly and all the volunteers that keep the Green Machine well oiled, well fed, well clothed, and well loved!

Leave a comment