Tuesday Housekeeping

I Good morning from Palmdale High School! Guys are getting lunch prior to heading in to the city for the concert event tonight. Spirits are high as the free day in Santa Monica last night was a blast for them all.

So I wanted to use this post to pick up on previous things I referred to but couldn’t divulge at the time.

You might remember last Friday in Clovis when I first joined the tour that I mentioned the brass working on something special. The very first thing  I heard them play was “Send In The Clowns”. That is Santa Clara Vanguard’s Corps Song. So I figured we were preparing it to play for Santa Clara…little did I know we were preparing to play it WITH Santa Clara, which we did at the last show’s Encore. It was amazing.

Also a note on the whole season. It’s a marathon, not a sprint. New parents…don’t even bother looking at scores right now with comparison to the Corps shows going on in the East. It will frustrate you. Comparison to Corps we’re marching against is worthwhile . Comparing with Corps we haven’t seen  head to head yet is a fool’s  errand. Where the scoring rubber in general hits the road is in San Antonio the 2nd week in July. All the top Corps will be there. The Cavaliers do have a unique opportunity in that we’re playing against West Coast Corps now but will be up against East coast corps in early July. Every scorewatching fan will be watching us closely as we match up with Crown, Boston, and Bluecoats since we are the only common denominator and have marched against the best of the West.

Wanted to throw into the parents…you’ve all raised remarkable,polite, and friendly young men. I know you’re proud!

 

Leave a comment