A Band of Brothers

Tuesday turned out to be a long and productive rehearsal day. I tried to get around the campus to the different rehearsal spots and post videos through the day on the Parents page.

I know I say this too much, but these guys amaze me. As I sat in the brass block and watched Kevin make musical adjustments on the fly, I remember thinking “How do these guys keep up with all this? “ But they DO!

The word brotherhood is arguably overused, but not in the case of the Cavaliers. These guys have each other’s back, from bringing the “forgotten horn case” back to the truck, to reminding each other to drink water, to helping each other learn their responsibilities on the field. It’s inspiring to watch.

I have no idea where we’ll finish in Indy. Drum Corps traditionalists will make the case that this is the time of year the Corps get “slotted” into a position. There’s actually data to support that hypothesis. There’s also data that doesn’t, most notably the 2016 and 2017 Cavaliers😀.

What my own eyes and ears witnessed yesterday was that the Cavaliers and their student and staff leadership haven’t accepted any notifications from DCI that they are “slotted” anywhere.

The Corps continues to innovate, to coach, to constructively criticize, to be iron sharpening iron.

And they are in it as a band of brothers, quite literally.

As I walked off the field last night I heard a chant where the Drum Major barked “If one of us fails…” to which the Corps loudly answered “we ALL fail”. At least that’s what it sounded like from a distance.

This Corps will fight to make that show everything it’s designed to be. We as parents and fans can ask for nothing more.

672E7927-F4D9-4279-A035-6E0635DDC7D8

Good morning Wednesday! Let’s get better!

Leave a comment