2022 Men Of The Green Machine- Grayson Horne

Please welcome Grayson Horne to the 2022 Cavaliers.

Here is Grayson’s path to the Cavaliers as related by his Mom.

Hey!!  My son is Grayson Horne and he will be marching Bass 2 with the Cavaliers this upcoming year.  His love for drumming came in the 6th grade when he started band in our local school.  He marched in the high-school band from his 8th grade year to graduation. Grayson started his drum corp career by marching with Atlanta CV.  He lost the next year due to Covid but followed up with Spirit of Atlanta.  He has been a member of the University of Georgia Redcoat Band (btw… Go Dawgs!) for two years and will continue there next year as a junior. 

 He knew he wanted to march with a top 5 corps this upcoming year and decided to audition with the Cavaliers and fortunately he made it!!  I know you want some hobbies outside of drum corps….. but he drums, everywhere and all the time. He lives and breathes drum corp.  He knows all the scores of the winning DCI corps from the beginning of time.   Seriously insane!  If I had to pick a hobby outside of anything drum related it would be that he loves playing disc golf with his friends. 

Grayson has always been one of those kids that has had a very wide variety of friend groups. Those friend groups didn’t always intermingle but he was equally comfortable in all of them.  I didn’t know much about the Cavaliers when he told me he was auditioning…. other than I did get to see them perform in Indy last year. When he got contracted I immediately joined the parent page. One thing that I have been impressed with is the  “Brotherhood Is” posts. I am a retired high school sped teacher and I’m ALL about teaching kids to be a decent human beings. LOVE those posts!! 



Also, Grayson and I had a convo the other night and he said that the April camp (the only one he has attended in person) was the absolute best camp he has ever been to.   He felt heard.  He felt seen.  He felt cared for.   He has high expectations for the summer to come and I hope every single one of them are met.   We live in South Georgia so other than the Atlanta show I won’t see him again until Indy. I hope you’ve got some good mama’s there loving on our babies until I can l0ve on him in person. 

💚

Leave a comment