“What Would You Do Without…”

MUSIC!”

You all know the line from Braveheart, right? “What would you do without freedom?”

I offer the alternative…”What would you do without music?”

I, for one, would be totally lost. I’ve made some form of Music my entire life. Piano first, then trumpet, euphonium, fluegelhorn…guitar, bass. Heck, I even crash coursed an accordion at the behest of a worship leader who simply “wanted accordion” in a particular chart.

I look at some of my family’s highest points through the prism of music. Our daughter Erin, used to provide an “excuse” for a family vacation to Savannah every Spring so she could participate in GMEA All-State band on French Horn. 6 years in a row…great family times.

My son is 20. Because of music, he’s done a 11-day tour of China (High School), a 10-day tour of Italy where he played in St. Peter’s Square for the Pope, and has toured the country with the Cavaliers.

For me, it’s led to professionally leading music worship teams off and on for 20 years in conjunction with or between corporate marketing gigs.

What will you do without music?

Thankfully you’ll never have to find out.

After hearing the 2nd movement of our show in Ensemble this afternoon, I literally had tears running down both cheeks. It’s just that beautiful.

Which started me thinking about the emotional power of music.

Which led to this blogpost.

Thanks for allowing me a stream of consciousness.

Let’s go Cavaliers. Let’s go inspire. Let’s go touch hearts with a perfected craft. Scores are the necessary evil.

Music is the universal inspiration.

Leave a comment