“Things Happen for a Reason”

“Well Dad, I guess I’m on my way to Chicago to try out for Cavaliers”.

That was the text I got from my son in early January, after he had barely missed making the Baritone line for the Bluecoats. Long story short, the music staff had him in, and the visual staff had him out. The longer version of that story is that there was quite an influx of veterans of other corps at Bluecoats auditions who were “known quantities” to stick out a DCI season ( or many). Davis had no such pedigree. I know he was disappointed, not so much to not make the corps, but rehashing the hours of rehearsal, hiring a visual coach, dancing in the yard in January when it was 5 degrees outside, etc.

We had formulated a plan before auditions ever started. Pick two corps…check their dates, make sure they weren’t in conflict, and audition full-force to make both. And then decide “Where will I spend my summer?”

The first pick was Bluecoats. The second pick was Cavaliers. I honestly think Davis picked Bluecoats because they had just won the World title and he wanted to see how he stacked up against arguably “the best of the best”.  And I know he picked Cavaliers because they’ve been a family favorite since  we started taking him and his sister to DCI South 10 years ago.  It didn’t hurt that there were a few of Atlanta CV’s members auditioning there as well, and a familiar face in Alan Armstrong, who works with both Cavaliers and Atlanta CV brass lines.

So, it seems kind of surreal that here we are, at the end of the season…and head to head last night the Bluecoats ( in their home show) bested the Cavaliers by a mere 0.35 of a point. And that’s the last data for the judges prior to Thursday’s prelims.

I know you’ve all heard the saying “Everything happens for a reason”. It’s kind of a trite way to explain away things that in my mind don’t really happen for a reason, but I really couldn’t be more delighted as a parent at how things have transpired this season.

First, one should never assume that just because an organization wins World Finals that they are just going to waltz to another gold medal the following year. That has been proven out in spades this year.

But more importantly, I love seeing the Cavaliers ( in general ) and my son (specifically) now sitting in the role of having everything to shoot for in the last 3 performances of the year. Sure, there’s a little pride involved here. The Bluecoats cut my kid! But in this case, I do tend to want to believe that “Everything happens for a reason”.  I’ll have to get more input from him as we fly home on Sunday, but every picture I see of him he is smiling. I’m fairly certain he’s found a home, a family, a band of brothers, a musical fraternity if you will.

So…as I reignite the blog for Finals week, I thought I’d start out with this…Nothing would make me happier for the Cavaliers ( and my son) than to come out blazing and overtake the Bluecoats in Indy. But honestly, even if that doesn’t happen…this couldn’t have been a better summer.

Many thanks to the Staff, Volunteers, Drivers, Medical Staff, etc. for the way you serve our young men…It’s Finals Week…time to let it all hang out!

davisgrowl

Leave a comment