Cavalier Volunteer Profile – Cathleen Roberson

While on my leg of the “Texas tour”, I was fortunate enough to meet Cathleen Roberson. Cathleen was working in the job I consider to be the most difficult…the cook truck! But in spite of the heat, the work, and the hours, Cathleen always has a smile on her face and is quick with a laugh. She also let me know that she owns property in some of the finest trout fishing country in the United States…near Mountain Home, Arkansas! Next time I grab up a bunch of guys to go fishing, I’m calling Cathleen!

All that said…on with the Q & A:

RWTC:  What section does your son march in?

Cathleen: “He has been marching with the color guard since 2017 after 2 years with the Crossmen.”

RWTC:  When did you first start volunteering with the Cavaliers?

Cathleen: “I volunteered with them last year but only for about 2 days due to my husband’s health condition. This year I had the honor of being with them for about 8 days.”

RWTC: What do you enjoy the most about being on the road with the Corps?

Cathleen: “It takes me out of my comfort zone and besides I only know 2 people so really I shouldn’t do this. My husband is on the heart transplant list so really I should stay at home with him just in case we get    ” The Call” and a heart is ready for him. My husband is the one who said,      “this is Wyatt’s age out year and it’s a time we will never get back so you should go.” I can tell you, IT WAS WORTH EVERY SWEATY, HOT, EXHAUSTING MOMENT! He was right! I will never forget all the hugs, all the “thank you’s”, all the smiles, tears and did I mention Hugs? I drew as much strength from them as they did from “mom”.

RWTC: If there was one thing you could tell someone who is considering being a volunteer, what would it be?

Cathleen:”I would tell each of you: your son will be thrilled you are there. It is time no one will ever take from you that you get to spend with your child. I can tell you first hand that there is no one out there that doesn’t need their mom in one way or another. Don’t underestimate the power that God gave you as Mom. I have a lot of sons from another mother as a result of the relationships my boys have brought to our home. If you think you don’t have time, you don’t have time Not to. Again, it’s time no one can ever take from you; a day, 2 days, a week or all summer. They will love and appreciate you.”


RWTC: Will you be in Indy this year?

Cathleen: “I will be in Indy this year without my husband. Because he is listed for a heart transplant, he cannot travel outside of 4 hours of Little Rock so I will rely on my Cavalier family for support. Already, I have grown to love so many I meant because I made the choice to go on tour and volunteer.”

RWTC: Who is your favorite corps BESIDES the Cavaliers?

Cathleen: “I have to say my other favorite is Crossmen. They are a family as well and because Wyatt started there, I will always have a heart for Fred and Maureen. I still have great relationships with the two food truck ladies I worked with when I went for 4 days and a dad that is a single parent and just wanted a chance to be with his daughters.”


RWTC: Any funny “road” stories from your volunteer service?

Cathleen:

Funny stories: “Oh my: I cannot rat anyone out but I will say: we laughed, giggled, did a little cussing and cleaned a whole lot of peanut butter when it went EVERYWHERE in the back part of the food truck. Chris Lugo will never eat peanut butter again, ever.”

RWTC:  Do you think you’d volunteer even after your son ages out?

Cathleen: “I will volunteer again: probably. Wyatt’s age out year. God willing, Landy, his father, gets a new heart and we can both help. Literally praying Wyatt gets hired by the Cavaliers so I can do more as well as his dad. Go Cavaliers! You have stolen our hearts! 💚💚 Btw: Cavliers Green Machine/ Transplant colors green as well! Coincidence: I think not. I think God is amazing and allowed ” for such a time as this!”

Thank you, Cathleen, for your service to our young men in the Green Machine. Our thoughts are with your husband and your family as he awaits his heart transplant! Thanks for taking the time to let us get to know you a little bit better!

Leave a comment