“Kevin Lebouef is Batman”

Okay, weird title…and Kevin and I don’t really know each other. We’ve said hello at a couple of shows. Always pleasant, but Kevin is busy at shows so I’ve not really engaged him in lengthy conversation.

So why the post title?

Here goes.

Last night I drove Thien Pham and Adolphe Legrauwe from Sacramento to our current location in Palmdale. 5 1/2 hour drive through the dead of night. They are both representing the Corps at Yamaha today so I was determined to drive the whole leg myself.

I started feeling fatigued around 3:30 a.m. so I decided to play a mental game that goes like this:

Find a true to life recent situation that you found funny and engaging. And with “logic” make it as absurd as possible in little logical babysteps.

The following example not only helped me finish the drive but I was wide awake and giggling to myself when we rolled in.

About a month ago Kevin, the Cavs Brass caption head posted one of the funniest true stories I’ve ever read about his last day in Thailand. Several times he would state a certain thought he had at the time only to mentally invoke the voice of  Morgan Freeman saying “But he would be mistaken”.

So here’s where my game began. I thought… “Dang, Kevin is talented. Great horn player, guitar player, piano player, and now this comedic writing!”

Logic Step 1: Dang , if Kevin could bottle that talent, and sell it… he’d be a millionaire.

Logic Step 2: Maybe he’s already a millionaire.

Put on your chinstrap… here we go. The following is a light synopsis that entertained me across the finish line.

We’ve established that Kevin is a millionaire. A young millionaire. Kinda like Bruce Wayne. But wait, Bruce Wayne is Batman.Therefore by associative law Kevin LeBouef is Batman. Move over Clooney,Bale,Keaton, Kilmer, and of course Affleck. Kevin Lebouef is freaking Batman!

Can Batman play a Baritone. You’re damn skippy tooting Batman can play a Baritone…he can quadruple tongue runs up to triple high c on a Baritone! And when he does his foes cerebral cortex disintegrates. It’s Lebouef Batman’s go to move.

At this point we’ve established by sound logic that Kevin Lebouef is both a millionaire AND Batman! But wait why would Lebouef Batman want to work for a Drum Corps? Because he loves it? Okay let’s roll with that.

But wait… isn’t Kevin constantly teaching in Asia? What if he’s secretly trying to build the world’s most powerful drum corps? Impossible for you and me but not Lebouef Batman.

Thats it! He’s built a Corp called the Flying Lebouefs!

They will be known as the FL’s from this point. But why “flying”?

Because in the FL’s they don’t march . They operate  personal drones and hover off the field in three dimensional splendor. Kevin’s first show design is  titled “Three Dimensional Chess”. Half the hornline are the black pieces. The other half the white pieces. They spar on and above the field as they blast amazing horn runs. Pieces begin to fall. Until finally the black queen has the white king in check.

The two fly directly at one another as the music reaches a climax. The white king is vanquished and falls to the earth as the mellophones play the 9 over the last raucous chord.

Kevin Lebouef has directed his first DCI Championship show. He wins 18 more in a row. The Blue Devils quit fielding a Corps. It’s pure anarchy!

And my story concluded as I pulled into the Parkdale High School parking lot two hours after it began to keep me awake.

Kevin might think this story wasn’t even more vivid in my imagination.

But (cue Morgan Freeman) … “He would be mistaken”.

An actual Cavaliers blog post to come later. 😀

 

Leave a comment