Home At Last!

Well, my amazingly flexible wife picked me up at North Cobb High School at 3:30 a.m. Saturday morning. I hit my own bed by about 4:30 a.m. ( of course we had to talk tour for a moment!), and I was back up at 9:30 a.m. to head down to Hudson’s Grill for the DCI Atlanta meet-up with the bunch I watch this show with every year.

It’s kind of funny…we’ve been meeting together for this show ( which used to be in the Georgia Dome) so long that this crowd all knows Davis as a “little boy” because when we first started going, that’s exactly what he was.

I found this in my picture archives last fall…how fun. Maybe one of you experienced Cavs fans can place the year by the t-shirt he’s wearing…I’m guessing he’s about 10 or 11. So this could be the aftermath of seeing “The Machine” in 2006. Either way…this kid got hooked on DCI early.

So you can imagine how excited this crew was to see “one of their own” who had been in the seats with us all those years down on the turf blowing the end out of his trombone! Proud moment for Laurie and I that was postponed a year when last year’s Atlanta show was moved to McEachern and the “Atlanta Block” wasn’t all able to go.

We were a little worried about how the sound quality would be in the new Mercedes Benz dome. We went to the Georgia Tech-Tennessee game there last year and the sound quality of the two marching bands was simply atrocious. But they must have done something to fix it, because it wasn’t really an issue at all. A little boomy…yes. But nothing like what we experienced last year at that game.

We were surprised and delighted when we got there that the Club Level at the Mercedes Benz Dome had an awesome eating area, bar, and restrooms all inside our little area. What a great way to watch a drum corps show!

If I had it my way, they’d move FINALS here in the future (but of course I won’t have it my way…)

Great night of Drum Corps. I couldn’t even let a percussion judge who temporarily lost his mind and a Boston eek-out erase my happiness from winding up a week of tour with the Green Machine.

So…now I’m out of the CPI truck, off the V-bus, and back home. But we WILL be in Indy beginning Thursday of Championships week. And in the meantime, I’m going to use this blog to highlight the volunteers that keep this organization a well-oiled machine.

Volunteers, be watching your private messages, etc. on Facebook. I’d like to do “virtual interviews” and gather some of your favorite pictures of yourself and your marching member!

Until then…thanks to the Cavaliers for letting me watch my kid chase his passion from the front row for a week. It’s an experience I wouldn’t trade a thing for…and if you as a parent have never tried it…you just don’t know what you’re missing!

Leave a comment