A LONG Day 1!

IMG_1997So…as it came time to load up and leave San Antonio for  Abbeville, LA., I thought my assignment was to ride shotgun in the Corps’ van, sleep the first shift, and potentially drive the second.  The travel coordinator encouraged me to just ride the volunteer bus and start driving on Monday. Cool!

And boy was it cool! I was in shorts and a t-shirt and the bus interior was a polar refuge. So, to set up a theme for this trip that all lies squarely in my lack of preparation, at the first refueling stop, I went looking for a blanket! And I found one! It was in a big square zipper case…warmth at last! Well, almost. Had I been paying any attention at all I would have noticed it was a 27 x 54 warming blanket for your legs that you plug into a cigarette lighter in your car. Yeah…details.

Upon waking up in Abbeville High School after securing a room in their library, I decided to get the walk  over as quickly as possible. Strapped on the almost brand new shoes and walked out of the building to find the corps already working on a grass football field.

So about twenty steps into the walk I realize that not only am I what is synomous to a rice patty, I look back at the corps and they are marching in one themselves unfazed. Mud and water flying everywhere. The new shoes are “broken in” to say the least.

Last night we drove the hour from Abbeville to Lafayette to ULL’s stadium for the show.

Long story short, the Cavaliers smoked!

IMG_1998

Davis had told me earlier in the day that his “backup” deodorant had melted in SC, he needed some more black socks, and a towel. I myself needed a twin sheet set for my inflatable bed, so I walked to the strip center across from ULL stadium and bought all that.

So… to the theme… purchases so far…

Truck stop blanket, twin sheet set, two towels, socks/deodorant for Davis, additional t-shirts for me. 😀

Tomorrow in Day 2- My deep respect for Truck Drivers!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment