Can It Get Better Than This?

Wow. Just WOW! Anybody else smiling this morning? I can’t wipe my stupid grin off my face! What an amazing year.

From the celebration of Don Warren’s life in Chicago, to marching in the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, to an epic outdoor concert in LA, to honoring Dayton Bryant in San Antonio, to overtaking Boston for good in North Carolina, to waking up at Niagra Falls and singing “Rainbow” to an actual rainbow, to experiencing a penalty in Prelims, and to going out last night and taking third in Brass and putting up the highest number we’ve put up since 2011… this season has been beyond remarkable. It has been EPIC!

So… since y’all have indulged my over the top fascination with numbers, I’d like to use my waking moments this particular morning to write about people. This activity is about just that … people.

The first person I want to write about is Emily Armstrong. She is the daughter of Alan Armstrong ( one of our brass staffers) and his lovely wife Ginger, who marched in Spirit of Atlanta’s color guard when she met Alan.

Emily’s dream has always been to march DCI. 2+ years ago she fell really ill and went months without a good diagnosis. Once she was diagnosed, she’s had multiple surgeries. She made Crossmen in 2018 but fell ill on the road and couldn’t finish the year. Her 2019 goal was to finish what she started and age out on the turf of Lucas Oil Stadium. And after knocking out a tooth in Texas during rehearsal, not to be denied, she did just that last night! So proud of her and her tenacity!

The next person on my mind this morning is Chasen Young. He marched trumpet with Davis at Atlanta CV, then went on to be the Drum Major at Oregon Crusaders. Almost know, Oregon folded for 2019. Chasen’s age out was here and his Corps wasn’t competing. So he contacted the Blue Devils. They got to know him for the extraordinary young  man that he is. And he aged out with a gold medal around his neck as one of the three DM’s for the Blue Devils.

Next on my mind is Jordyn Mader. She’s a former student of my brother David, who also marched Atlanta CV with Davis. She marched SCV in 2017 and earned a silver, skipped 2018, and earned a bronze last night. If she’d marched 18 she would be the only person I know with a full set of medals.

People. When you peel it all back there are so many amazing people in this activity. Talented, hardworking, passionate people.

And while I doubt Davis’ friends Jordyn and Chasen will ever rub his nose in their medals ( because they’re just not that kind of people), I know he’ll come back in 2020 with a fire and passion to earn his own that it’s going to be fun to watch.

Don’t sleep on the Cavaliers in 2020. They’ve spent a summer getting stronger on “The Wrong Side of the Tracks”.

This guy is coming back hungry. I can guarantee it.

Thanks to all who have been supportive of this blog this year. It serves as great “DCI Therapy” for me as I’m obviously (over) invested in the activity.

But hey… when it’s your kid… whadda you gonna do?

See you on opening day 2020!

 

One thought on “Can It Get Better Than This?”

  1. Thank you so much…this definitely keeps me going. I love all the numbers and the heartfelt messages. So glad to be a part of this!

    Like

Leave a comment