I Have No Words…

… that will seem appropriate for what I just saw. Awesome is overused. So is amazing. Cool definitely won’t cut it. But for our young men I think “unforgettable” may be the best choice.

First, to get a street closed in Los Angeles has to be a pretty tough thing to do. Then to set up a full drum corps and a community jazz band that quickly and efficiently was crazy.

But the unforgettable part was when, literally out of nowhere, I look over to my right and Eric Whitacre is standing right there, digging the community jazz band.

Then…to listen to “The Wrong Side of the Tracks” in a standstill arc again blew my mind. We need to get used to the idea that the Cavaliers are now an ELITE hornline. We’ve hit a new brass gear. There’s no other way to say it.

Eric Whitacre joking with the Drum Majors

Now if that’s not enough, out steps Wayne Bergeron to run some charts with our hornline as the back up band, joined later by the Cavs own Mike Martin.

And my personal cherry on top… watching my son conduct “When You Wish Upon A Star” with Wayne Bergeron and Mike Martin. He’ll have a different word than just “unforgettable “. He’ll trump that up to “life changing”.

I bumped into Kevin Lebouef, who after smiling and making Batman ears, said almost simultaneously with me …”that’s not the same hornline”. Which I followed with “But it’s got a lot of the same people”. To which he replied “Yep. Year 2 is fun”. He had a confident smile.

It’s not the same hornline.

The brass players basically swarmed Wayne Bergeron for pictures during loadout and smiles were wide and plentiful. Yes, they’ve had 2 full days off the field. And in my humble and unsolicited opinion, it’s gonna pay dividends. Because the next two days are gonna be like boot camp in this joint. IF our men respond like I think they will, we’re gonna get better.

Wayne Bergeron holding Court with our brass guys.

The last words Kevin said to me were, “The next 2 days are the most important of this season so far.”

Yep. And our boys are walking into them high as a kite. And that’s not to be confused with a contact high one can now get by simply standing outdoors in a park in LA, because that’s a whole different story.

Should you talk to your Cavalier in the next 2 workdays, keep them positive. There is so much to be excited about between now and August.

Over and out from the Volunteer bus on the way back home.

Unforgettable. Yep, that seems about right. G’night.

Leave a comment